AWOLI Afrika Festival Constance

Wow. Just Wow.
I really have to say, that was an amazing weekend, where
got to know many, very nice, open-hearted and great people.

Because also active in Mamelodi, I have arranged to meet with Juliane Hoss, a co-founder of Bridging Gaps on Saturday morning. With an incredible amount of dedication and passion she brought (and brings) her project to the to the people. Anyway, they didn't have to convince me that long that this is a really great, worthy of support project - well actually I do not want to distract from my project where I myself need any donation - but I was definitely immediately with them and distributed flyers and helped to raise funds for their project.
I got to know there a lot of people that 'ever were in South Africa' - well as a tourist you can't really have a look behind the scenes, but let's leave it at that here.

I also met and got to know people who just go back home and invited me for a "come-over-braai".

The day passed faster than imagined - unfortunately. After all we had had a nice evening, where I said, that if then this youth camp in Mamelodi takes place...

Okey, maybe I should briefly explain
at this point what Bridging Gaps (mainly) does (everything else you can check check out on their website):

Twice a year, they organize a youth camp
in Mamelodi (East) where 10-15 year-olds of any social backgrounds, regardless of gender, race, religion etc PP ( ;) ) are invited. And why do they do that? - To get over and to remove prejudices, thereby to reduce racism.

Well anyway, when the camp takes place in October, I'm going to try to get holiday
at Tateni and enter into the project 'Bridges Camps'.



Very impressive, was the film (interviews) about racism in Germany - many of us, perhaps doesn't mean it like that, or it just happens unconsciously . . .


- So why do we play "Who is afraid of the black man"?

- Why is
"Schwarzfahren" called "Schwarzfahren" (dodging), and "Schwarzarbeit" called "Schwarzarbeit" (moonlighting)?

- Why do some peple ask over and over again whether
  people are
black, colored or pigmented now - Whites
  aren't namely white at all,
but more pink, beige, pale
  
or cheese-white.


- Why there are always those people who always want
  to touch the hair of
these people? That's a
  
Border crossing in my opinion, which is just plain
  disrespectful.

- Why do some people not want to recognize, that we
  live in a globalized world, where also exist
black people

  who were born in Germany
? That they also could be
 
well-educated, not corresponding to the stereotype
  "
Black".



It is on us now to rethink our opinions and images and to destroy them, because ONLY if we confront any human being open-hearted and respectful and AS A HUMAN BEING, a happy and open cooperation is possible, where no one has to feel not recognized.